• USD / US$
  • EUR / €
  • CAD / CA$
  • AUD / AUD$
  • GBP / GBP£
  • MXN / $MXN
  • JPY / JPY¥
  • KRW / KRW₩
  • BRL / R$
  • PHP / PHP
  • CLP / CLP
  • English
  • Español
  • Français
  • Português
Soccerdeal - Soccerdeal





    Short Sleeve Jerseys

    Canada men's national soccer team

    Nickname(s): Les Rouges (The Reds)
                          The Canucks
    Association: Canadian Soccer Association
    Confederation: CONCACAF
    Sub-confederation: NAFU
    Head coach: Jesse Marsch
    Captain: Alphonso Davies
    Most caps:  Atiba Hutchinson (105)
    Top scorer: Cyle Larin (29)
    Home stadium: Various
    FIFA code: CAN


    Major competitions

    ♠ CONCACAF Championship / Gold Cup
    Champions (2): 1985, 2000
    Third place (2): 2002, 2007

    ♠ CONCACAF Nations League
    Runners-up: 2022–23

    Other competitions

    ♠ North American Nations Cup

    Winners: 1990

    ♠ Summer Olympics
    Winners: 1904

    ♠ CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Tournament
    Runners-up: 1984


    In 1876, football became popular in Canada.
    On May 24, 1912, the Dominion Football Association of Canada was established; on December 31, it joined FIFA.

    In 1904, at the St. Louis Olympics in the United States, the Canadian Galt Football Club represented the country and defeated two American teams in a row, winning the gold medal in football at that Olympics.

    In 1924, Canada formed a national team and held a friendly match in Australia, but eventually lost to Australia 2-3.


    In 1946, the Canadian Football Association was reorganized; in 1948, it rejoined FIFA.

    In 1957, the World Cup qualifiers, the Canadian team participated for the first time. On June 22, in the first game, Canada defeated the United States 5-1, setting a milestone in the first World Cup qualifier in team history, and finally achieved a record of 2 wins and 2 losses, failing to qualify for the World Cup

    In 1968, in the World Cup qualifiers, the Canadian team won 2 of 4 games and failed to qualify. 
    Canada went to the World Cup qualifiers again, but failed to qualify for the next three World Cup qualifiers after winning 2 of 4 games. Canada returned home in defeat again.

    In 1985, the Canadian team participated in the CONCACAF Champions Cup, won the championship, and advanced to the 1986 Mexico World Cup.

    In the 1986 Mexico World Cup, the Canadian team lost to France 0-1, Hungary 0-2, and the former Soviet Union 0-2.


    In 1994, in the World Cup qualifiers, the Canadian team ranked second in CONCACAF, but in the play-offs, against Australia, the two rounds ended in a 3-3 draw. In the penalty shootout, the Canadian team lost 1-4 to the opponent and missed the World Cup in the United States.

    In 1998, CONCACAF won 3 World Cup places. The Canadian team won 1, drew 3, and lost 6 in the World Cup qualifiers, ranking last in the group and failed to qualify. In the same year, the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the Canadian Football Association withdrew from the tournament in order to provide a chance for Jamaica to qualify for the World Cup.


    In 2000, the Canadian team won the CONCACAF Gold Cup and qualified for the 2001 Confederations Cup. This was the first championship after the reform of CONCACAF.

    After 2018

    In the several World Cup qualifiers after 2001, the Canadian team had a relatively poor record, and even set an embarrassing record of 16 consecutive defeats between 2012 and 2014.

    Canada's young players have appeared in the world football, in addition to Alphonso Davies, the first Canadian player to win the Champions League, and Jonathan David, who played for Lille. When David joined Lille, the transfer fee of 30 million euros set a record for the transfer fee of Canadian players.

    On November 17, 2021, Canadian player Larin scored twice to help the team beat Mexico 2-1, defeating the opponent for the first time in 20 years. In 2021, Canada's FIFA ranking rose from 72nd to 40th at the end of the year, an increase of 32 places, and also won the "Most Improved Team" award issued by FIFA.

    On March 28, 2022, in the 13th round of the group stage of the North and Central American qualifiers in the World Cup, Canada defeated Jamaica 4-0 at home, which was also the first time Canada won a ticket to the World Cup after 36 years.

    On February 15, 2023, the FIFA Council officially announced that as the host country of the 2026 World Cup, the Canadian national men's football team will automatically enter the finals.

    At 9:00 am on July 6, 2024, Beijing time, Venezuela faced Canada in the quarter-finals of the Copa America. In the first half, Schaffelborg opened the scoring, and then Jonathan David missed a chance. Venezuela trailed Canada 0-1 at halftime. In the second half, Rondón equalized with a long-range lob. The two teams tied 1-1 after 90 minutes and went directly to the penalty shootout. Canada defeated Venezuela 4-3 in the penalty shootout. In the end, Canada eliminated Venezuela with a total score of 5-4 and advanced to the semi-finals, where they will face Argentina.